New Questions:
1. What is “flat foot”? Published at:2012-08-25
Flat foot means that the foot arch is depressed when standing, without the normal curvature. People with flat foot are most inborn or hereditary, seldom are due to radical weight increase. Sufferer will become tired and have foot pains easily when walking. For severe cases, it is possible to have knee or waist pain.
2. Does every child have flat foot? Published at:2012-08-25
Actually not every child has flat foot. The foot condition varies at different ages: before 4 years old, the fat layer of foot bottom is relatively thick. Their shape of foot cannot be confirmed and it is called “pseudo flat foot”. From 4-13 years old, the layer of fat at foot bottom should be gradually reduced and forms the foot arch. Some of them may have flat foot at this stage. By using insoles with suitable arch support and doing exercises, it helps to prevent deterioration and alleviate foot problems.
3. How do I know if I have flat foot? Published at:2012-08-25
You can perform self-examination at home. It is very simple. First, wet your feet and then stamp on dry newspaper. Immediately you will see a water print. With this print, you can basically determine whether you have flat foot or not (If there is no dry space in footprint medial region, that would be flat foot). If in doubt, you may go to Dr. Kong Healthy Shoe Shop to receive Check & Fit foot examination service or consult doctor for opinions.
4. What should we do if our children have flat foot? Published at:2012-08-25
If the foot shape is confirmed, parents can help children to select shoes with the following features to reduce the problem of pain and fatigue.
- Hard heel counter (better if there is mid-cut design) -> it can stabilize heel bone and control the degree of rear foot valgus.
- Insoles with different levels of arch support -> Use different insoles according to different foot condition to reduce foot problems.
- Shoes with different width of forefoot -> Choose appropriate shoe style according to different shapes of foot so that the shoes can follow the foot shape closely and increase comfort.
5. It is often heard that children have flat foot. Then what about high arch? What are the problems with it? Published at:2012-08-25
People with high arch means foot arch higher than normal when standing. People with high arch foot most are inborn or hereditary, some of them are due to their shoe wear (wearing shoes too small). If high arch appears, children’s forefeet and heel bottom receive more stress. It can lead to pain and callus at forefoot and heel. Besides, children’s center of gravity raised because of the foot shape and they can easily sprain their ankles.
6. How should we deal with high arch? Published at:2012-08-25
We recommend children to receive Check & Fit service to choose suitable insole for increasing foot bottom contact. It can fill up the foot arch and redistribute pressure evenly. At the same time, we recommend children to wear shoes with wider bottom, hard heel counter and mid-cut design shoes to reduce the possibility of sprain.
7. Is it necessary to wear health shoes for normal foot? Published at:2012-08-25
Even normal foot, it is still necessary to wear health shoes. The purpose is to provide a healthy environment during the foot development stage.
8. Why do children’s heels become slanted? Published at:2012-08-25
The foot joints of children before 4 years old are relatively soft. Therefore, a slanted heel is normal. As they grow older(4-6 years old), their foot will gradually develop. Normally, the heel will return to upright slowly. Otherwise, that would be rear foot valgus. Rear foot valgus is mainly inborn or hereditary. Rear foot valgus increases pressure at medial foot region and worsen flat foot problem.
9. What to do if there are slanted heels? Published at:2012-08-25
During development stage, children’s feet will change. Therefore, it is recommended to choose shoes with hard heel counter to stabilize children’s heel bones and control the degree of rear foot valgus. By using suitable insoles, heels can return to straight condition when walking and prevent foot problems.
10. If rear foot valgus is more severe, what should be noted when choosing shoes? Published at:2012-08-25
Besides wearing shoes with hard heel counter and using insoles of appropriate level, one can also wear shoes with mid-cut design to further protect foot joints and enhance stability.
11. Why children walk with in-toeing?How to handle it? Published at:2012-08-25
In-toeing is mainly caused by inward curvature with hip joint. The reasons are mainly related to sitting posture (W-sitting, kneel sitting) and sleep posture (prone sleeping). It is normal for children before 4 years old to have in-toeing. It will slowly improve as they get older. If children still have in-toe walking after 6 years old, it can be treated with proper sitting posture and exercises: sitting cross-legged, swimming with breaststrokes, cycling and sidelong walking. Health shoes cannot directly remediate in-toeing but it helps to relieve children’s foot pain or fatigue.
12. Why some children’s heel do not touch ground when walking? Published at:2012-08-25
Majority of them are caused by bad habits. As they grow older, these situations will gradually reduce. It can also be improved by wearing shoes with mid-cut design and doing different exercises such as walking on heels at home to develop the sense of heel touching ground. It can also reduce the chance of shortening heel’s tendon.
13. My child often falls. What should I do? Published at:2012-08-25
X-shaped legs maybe one of the reasons that children often fall. During walking, their knees knock each other and children then easily fall. In general situation, the knee joints will gradually become normal after 4 years old. But it is still necessary to avoid improper sitting posture such as W-sitting. Besides, walking on toe tips also causes children’s center of gravity shifting forwards and it is one of the reasons why children fall.
14. My child’s feet grow especially fast. How large should I buy shoes for him? Published at:2012-08-25
When buying shoes, just reserve the room for one finger (i.e. 8-10mm) is enough. Avoid buying shoes that are too large because too much space within the shoes will increase friction between foot and shoe inside which may easily lead to callus formation. Besides, since the space within the shoes is too much, children will claw their toes to hold the shoes inside. In long terms, it will easily cause claw toes.
15. Why do big toes slant? Published at:2012-08-25
This foot condition is called Hallux Valgus. The causes are mainly inborn or hereditary, other reasons including wearing high heel shoes/pointed shoes or flat foot. It is recommended to avoid wearing high heel shoes or pointed shoes. Using Hallux Valgus Splint or toe separator can help to control the degree of deterioration. If you have bunion pain, one can use bunion protector between the bunion and the shoe to reduce friction. Besides, the hallux extension belt can be used to relieve the soft tissue around toe joints and reduce stretching. If the situation is severe, please consult your doctor.
16. How do we know if the size of the shoes is appropriate for children? Published at:2012-08-25
To find out whether the size of shoes is appropriate, you can try to take out the insole and let children stand on it. With heel closely follow the insole’s end, if there is room for one finger between the forefoot and the insole, that means it is suitable. If there is no room or that the toes are longer than the insole, that means the children’s foot has grown longer and it is necessary to buy suitable shoes. Sometimes, the insole of some shoes cannot be pulled out. It is recommended to use newspaper or other kinds of paper to insert into the shoes. Try to flatten the paper inside the shoes so that the paper adheres to the inside of the shoes. Later, take it out and compare it with the children’s feet.
17. Why do the shoe heels damage so fast no matter what shoes children wear? Published at:2012-08-25
Since it is normal for people to walk with slight out-toeing, therefore the outer sides of their heels will touch ground first and so the outer heel position of their shoes will wear more quickly. This is normal. However, when out-toeing becomes obvious, it will speed up the degree of wear at the heel position. Besides step posture, the material of shoe bottom will affect the speed of wear. If the shoe bottom is made of PU, it is relatively soft and durable and the speed of wear will reduce. It is recommended that if the shoe bottom wears too much, shoes could be replaced with a new one.
18. What will happen if we wear shoes without socks? Published at:2012-08-25
The two major functions of socks are reduction of friction between shoe and foot and the absorption of sweat. For wearing closed-toe shoes without socks, both feet’s friction increases during walking and it will easily cause callus or blisters. On the other hand, wearing no socks reduce sweat absorption and will easily breed bacteria.
19. Are there any problems with taking off shoes without untying shoelaces or releasing magic straps? Published at:2012-08-25
When putting on shoes, we should first untie shoelaces or release magic straps and move foot backwards close to the hard heel counter position. Then tie up the shoelaces or fasten the magic straps or else the foot will move and rub against the inside of shoes when walking. When taking off shoes, we should first untie shoelaces or release magic straps and avoid stepping on the shoe heel to take off shoes because it will easily deform the heel counter and reduce the protection effect.
20. Are there custom-made shoes service at Dr. Kong? Published at:2012-08-25
Dr. Kong does not offer custom-made shoes service. But through basic foot examination and according to customer’s needs we could provide suitable shoes and insoles. Besides, the Foot-Health Orthotic Centre(http://www.foothealthhk.com) under Dr. Kong provides custom-made insole service for those who need further footcare.
2018 © Dr.Kong. All Rights Reserved.

New Questions:
1. 什麼是”扁平足”? Published at:2012-08-25
扁平足指站立時足弓下陷,沒有正常弧度。主要成因包括先天/遺傳或者後天大幅度體重變化,例如懷孕等。這種腳形一般走路時足部會容易疲累或者出現痛症,嚴重可能會有膝痛、腰痛等問題。
2. 是否每個小朋友都會有扁平足? Published at:2012-08-25
事實不是每個小朋友也有扁平足。年齡不同,足部情況亦會不同:4歲前,腳底脂肪層較厚,腳形未能確認,稱為“假扁平足”;於4-13歲,小朋友足底脂肪減少,足弓逐漸成形,但於此時期仍常見有寬扁足情況,可配以合適的足弓承托及適量運動,預防足部惡化及減少後遺症。
3. 我怎樣知道自己有沒有扁平足? Published at:2012-08-25
可以在家中作自我檢查,方法很簡單,先濕腳,之後印在乾的報紙上,即時會看到一個水印,憑此印可反映足部情況,便知道是屬於那一類腳形。如有疑問,可以到Dr. Kong健康專門店作進一步的Check & Fit驗腳服務查詢,或請教醫生的意見。
4. 小朋友有扁平足怎麽辦? Published at:2012-08-25
若已確認腳形,家長可替小朋友選擇有以下特點的鞋,減少易累易痛的問題。
-後跟杯加硬 (若有中筒設計更佳)可穩定後跟骨,控制後足外翻的幅度。
-不同幅度的足弓墊因應不同足部情況配墊,預防足患後遺症。
-前掌不同圍度因應不同肥瘦腳形選擇合適鞋款,使鞋更貼腳,增加舒適度。
5. 較常聽到兒童有扁平足,高弓足又是什麼?有什麼問題? Published at:2012-08-25
高弓足人士在站立時,足弓較平常人為高。成因主要包括先天/遺傳或者長期穿著太細小的鞋。如有高弓足情況,小朋友前掌及後跟底部受壓較大,可能會引致前掌及後跟位置有痛及繭等情況。另外,由於高弓足的關係, 小朋友重心因腳形關係而提高,故此會較容易扭傷。
6. 高弓足該如何處理? Published at:2012-08-25
我們建議小朋友透過Check & Fit服務配以適當足弓墊,增加足底接觸面,填補足弓,平均分佈壓力;同時亦建議小朋友穿著鞋底較闊大,後跟杯加硬或中筒鞋以減少扭傷的機會。
7. 正常足需要著健康鞋嗎? Published at:2012-08-25
正常足都需要著健康鞋,目的是可讓足部生長期間,可提供一個健康的環境生長。
8. 為什麼小朋友後跟會斜? Published at:2012-08-25
小朋友四歲前,足部關節較為柔軟,故後跟傾斜屬於正常現象。隨著成長(4-6歲),足部會漸漸成形,正常來說,此階段後跟亦會慢慢回復垂直狀態,否則就會有後足外翻的情況。後足外翻成因大多為先天遺傳,而後足外翻會增加內側足弓壓力,使扁平足問題惡化。
9. 後跟斜如何是好? Published at:2012-08-25
小朋友於生長期間,足部會有所變化;因此建議選鞋時選擇後跟杯位置加硬,可穩定小朋友後跟骨,控制後足外翻的幅度;再配合不同幅度的足弓承托,使走路時可回復正常狀態及預防足患後遺症。
10. 如果後足外翻情況較明顯,選鞋時有什麼要特別留意? Published at:2012-08-25
除穿著後跟杯加硬及配以合適幅度鞋墊外,可穿著中筒設計的鞋款,進一步保護足踝關節,加強穩定性。
11. 為什麼走路時會有入字腳?應怎樣處理? Published at:2012-08-25
入字腳主要是髖關節內旋引起,成因多與坐姿(W形坐、跪坐)及睡姿(趴睡)有關。4歲前小朋友有入字腳屬正常現象,除著成長便會慢慢改善。若小朋友6歲後仍有入字步態,可透過正確坐姿及運動處理:盤膝坐、游蛙泳、踏單車及橫行。健康鞋並不能直接處理入字腳情況,但卻有助減少小朋友腳累腳痛的問題。
12. 為什麼有些小朋友走路時腳後跟不著地? Published at:2012-08-25
大部份都是壞習慣引起,隨著年紀增長一般會慢慢減少,可透過穿中筒鞋及做不同運動改善,如在家裡用腳跟走路,培養後跟著地的習慣,減少後跟腱縮短的機會。
13. 我小朋友經常跌倒,應該怎辦? Published at:2012-08-25
小朋友經常跌倒可能因為X形腿,走路時雙膝因經常碰撞而跌倒;正常來說,四歲後膝關節會漸趨正常,但仍需要避免一些不良坐姿,如W形坐等;另外,足尖步態會使小朋友重心向前,也是其中一個令小朋友容易跌倒的原因。
14. 我小朋友的腳部長得較快,買鞋要預大多少呢? Published at:2012-08-25
買鞋時,預留一個手指位空間 (即8-10毫米)便可。避免買過大的鞋,因過多的鞋內的空間會於走路時容易產生磨擦,較易生繭;另外,由於鞋內空間太大,小朋友會用腳趾抓緊鞋子,長遠會容易形成爪狀趾。
15. 為什麼拇趾會斜向一邊? Published at:2012-08-25
這種足部情況稱為拇趾外翻,成因主要是先天/遺傳、經常穿著高跟/尖頭鞋或扁平足。建議避免穿著高跟/尖頭鞋,可使用波子骨夾及分趾軟墊控制惡化程度,如有波子骨痛, 可使用波子骨墊減少波子骨與鞋之間的磨擦。另外亦可使用拇趾伸張帶作足部運動來鬆弛拇趾關節附近的軟組織,減少拉扯。若情況嚴重,建議諮詢醫生。

16. 如何知道小朋友的鞋子尺碼是否合適? Published at:2012-08-25
一般要知道鞋的尺碼是否合適,可以嘗試把鞋墊抽出,讓小朋友站在鞋墊上,後跟緊貼鞋墊尾部,若果前掌與鞋墊之間有一個指頭空間,那代表還合適;若果沒有空間, 甚至腳趾比鞋墊長,即代表小朋友腳仔長大了,要買合適的鞋子穿。有時候發現某些鞋子的鞋墊不能抽出,建議可用報紙或其他紙張攝入鞋內,盡量把紙張在鞋內攤平,將紙張壓貼鞋內壁,稍後拿出來便可與小朋友腳仔比較。
17. 為甚麼小朋友穿什麼鞋,鞋踭都磨損得很快? Published at:2012-08-25
由於正常人走路時會有輕微八字腳情況,所以後跟外側會較先著地,而鞋的後跟外側位置亦會磨損得比較快,這都是正常現象。但當有明顯八字腳情況,會進一步加快鞋後跟位置蝕的程度。除步態外,鞋底物料亦會影響鞋跟蝕的速度,如鞋底物料PU,則較軟身及耐磨, 磨蝕速度較慢。建議如果鞋跟磨蝕得太厲害,便要更換鞋子。
18. 穿鞋不穿襪會有甚麼影響? Published at:2012-08-25
襪的兩個主要作用是減輕鞋與腳之間的磨擦及吸汗;若穿密頭鞋而不穿襪,雙腳於步行時磨擦增加,較容易生繭/起水泡;另一方面,不穿襪亦會減低吸汗程度,容易滋生細菌。
19. 唔除鞋帶/魔術貼著鞋或除鞋會有甚麼問題呢? Published at:2012-08-25
穿鞋前應先鬆開鞋帶/魔術貼,然後把足部向後推,並緊貼堅硬後跟杯位置,然後綁緊鞋帶/魔術貼,否則足部於走路時會於鞋內磨擦或搖動。而脫鞋時,則需先鬆開鞋帶/魔術貼,應避免踏鞋跟脫鞋子,因為會導致後跟杯容易變形,減低保護效果。
20. Dr. Kong有沒有訂造鞋服務? Published at:2012-08-25
DR KONG沒有訂造鞋服務,但可以透過基本足部檢查,按客人的需要,提供配以合適的鞋及鞋墊。另外於Dr. Kong轄下的步康訂造鞋墊中心(http://www.foothealthhk.com), 亦會有度身訂造鞋墊服務提供給需要進一步足部護理的人士。
2017 © Dr.Kong. All Rights Reserved.